Calder Hill Climb 2013

Bronze Standard Oscar for Lee Thortersen

There was a magnificent field of 38 for an evening hill climb. 

Nick Griffiths time of 2.48.1 was 22 seconds adrift of his record time of 2.26.4, done 11 years ago, but his time was still enough to win the 2013 edition of the hill climb and shows that despite the passing years, Nick remains a class act on the back of a very successful season.

Nick Griffiths – Photo @waggysworld

There were more superb rides to come with Jennie Latham (Calder Clarion) storming up the climb
to easily break the Women’s Hill Climb record in a very impressive 3.10.5. 

RST Racings Ryan Bell continuing his habit of finishing 2nd, was 2.2 seconds behind Nick G, his 
vociferous supporters on the hill delighted with his ride.

Calder Clarion 18 year old Matthew O’Conner was 3rd and took the Junior Hill Climb record (provisional), getting the better of his senior team mates Matt Dodsworth and Kyle Wells

The event was also the 4th stage of the “Not the TDF” Tour. Stage winner Nick Griffiths consolidated his lead in the yellow jersey overall classification after moving into yellow after the Calder Audax 
on Sunday.

There was a lively atmosphere at the top of the climb with some very appreciative spectators enjoying the efforts of the riders, particularly Lee Thortersen who gave everything to get under his target 4.10 Bronze Standard target collapsed in a ‘theatrical’ heap once he’d crossed the line.
Great stuff.                                                    Results

Martin Price – Photo @waggysworld

Kyle Wells

Ben Hancock – Photo Simon Roberts

Matt Dodsworth – Photo Simon Roberts

Tony Anderson

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *